mtbr member

GoPro Newb needs help!

I got my Father's Day present on Saturday - a Hero3 Black ed. I'm a complete newb to video, production, and all of that, but I think this camera is going to be lots of fun to record my family's adventures, my riding, and other stuff. I took a video of my kids riding around the block, and can tell that I'm a long ways from producing the types of videos seen here and elsewhere. But I have a couple questions for the experienced.

1) any luck using non-Gropro mounts and so forth? On Amazon, they have a couple options, including a generic looking chest mount for $15 and the Gopro brand for $40. I don't want junk to save $25, but don't want to spend just for the name, either.

2) what do you wish you had known or bought when starting out? Trying to mooch off of your experience and avoid throwing money and time at things that are pointless, or missing the boat and not getting the items that really make this camera useful.
    '11 Specialized Enduro Expert for the trails
    '13 Felt Z4 for the road

Airborne Flight Crew
    Haven't used third party mounts, sorry can't help there. I can say the GoPro brand chest mount is fairly durable, I don't think I wasted $40 on it though. It's worked great and held up fine.

The following page is a great breakdown on resolution settings and what to expect in the output. My trial and error agrees with the info on this page:
    Understanding Your New GoPro

Also, not sure what card you got, but class 10 is *I think* the fastest/bestest you can get now.

Cheap extra batteries can be had on Amazon for cheap, they work great and have been well received by users here.

Hope that helps, I'm sure more will chime in...

Congrats on the camera!
    Airborne Flight Crew

Jerry Hazard website

mtbr member
    Thanks for the tips. Yeah, I'm ordering at least one pack of Wasabi batteries today, and I will probably just go with the Gopro chest mount.