mtbr member
    Dec 2012

GoPro 3 - 1440 vs. 1080

just picked one up and unfortunately i don't have a lot of time to mess around with settings before i go on my trip...heading out to the swiss alps for a couple days and want to get some good vids

so my question is:

what would you recommend for creating a video...i don't like the 4:3 aspect ratio of 1440 and am not sure if pulling a 16:9 portion of the video would yield as wide a view as if it were captured with 1080

what are your opinions?

this is my first time filming and editing so any advice is appreciated

thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    On the editting side of things, if you record in the higher, 4:3 aspect ratio, and then composite it to the lower widescreen, 16:9 aspect ratio, you'll get your widescreen view, at least, as far as the viewer is concerned.

AFAIK (I've never done this personally), but you're not getting the true widescreen as it was intended, that is why you see in movies on TV, "This film as been modified for widescreen" or whatever the "disclaimer" is when it starts.

However, ignorance is bliss.. what the viewer doesn't know won't kill them, right?

edit: Is it 2560x1440 or is it 1440x900? If it is the later, you'll need to resize the video so that it fits, and won't get the black bars.. this will increase the pixelation of the video.. if it is the former, then you can leave it as is, and just make the composition 1920x1080.. or make the comp size 1080 and shrink the video so that it fits within the boundaries (you will still get some "overlap", but the viewer will see more of the video).

2006 Yeti AS-X
    I record in 720p all the time and have never had issue with enjoyable content. I also use 720p as it is easier for me to edit on my system. I may try 1080 and 1440 just to get familiar with it.
    I don't use Strava. Don't need an application to tell me I am slow because I already know.

Airborne Flight Crew
    Quote Originally Posted by sinfony78 View Post