Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XC ski choices

mtbr member
    Dec 2009

XC ski choices

I'm looking into some XC skis for my girlfriend. What do y'all recommend based on your partner's setups? She's 5'8" about 140lbs, an advanced skier, but not very fast or aggressive. Neither of us are experienced nordic skiers, and I'm just learning to tele this year. We'll be mostly off track, a lot of mtb trails, some forest roads. Not planning on using them for big mountain excursions, as she also has an AT setup. However, a lot of my favorite mtb trails have good climbing/descending.

I'm thinking of something like the Madshus Eon or similar. Not sure what length though. Her AT skis are 165, but the Madshus chart recommends 175 for her weight. Don't know how well she'll turn on longer skis. Really unsure of the binding/boot system for her. Is the stability of 3 pin and light tele worth the weight for her, or would a Magnum BC binding be better? How well do the Magnums turn? I'm using Voile 3 pin cables with Scarpa T4s on an older pair of Atomic Rainier skis. Might be overkill for her?

mtbr member
    Apr 2013