Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Who's riding 1x9 or 1x10 in VT?

I have been thinking about upgrading my current 2x9 setup to a 1x9 and adding a chain guide. My riding is almost exclusively in VT, with the downhills that make a chain guide seem like a good idea preceded by the climbs to get to the goods. I've been experimenting with attempting the climbs in only my "big" ring (32t) but can't seem to resist dropping into the granny. Anyone else made the leap? Anyone tried it then gone back to 2x9? Thoughts?

mtbr member
    I've been running 1x9 for two years now. 32T :11T-32T. I run a BBG sandwich and a Blackspire Stinger on my Kona Dawg. The bike is about 29 lbs and I ride up/down on all of the Fellowship trail networks without a problem. Early season is tough without the granny, but I honestly like the 1x9 setup better than 2x9 (which I ran for two years before making the leap to 1x9).

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    been running 1x9 for a couple of seasons and agree after any long time off the bike its hard to get going again but other than that its great--started with a 34 up front but now a 32 with 11-34

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    been on 1x9 for a while, just recently made the switch to 1x10... I have a 1x10 with 11-36 cassette right now and 32t front. You definitely can't just take it easy on the climbs, you have to push it... but I think it's made me a stronger rider for sure... I ordered a 31t front from homebrew for the spring when I'm weak, but haven't put it on yet, as I played basketball to keep in shape last winter... I definitely won't go back to a 2xanything...
    determined to put the "mountain" back in "MOUNTAIN BIKING!!!" "HIT IT!"
    2012 MOJO HDeeeeeeee!!!!
    2010 scott CR1 comp

mtbr member
    Aug 2010