Moderator Moderator

Possible move to Burlington

I've got a tempting offer to move to Burlington for a job. I spent much of my youth outside of Lake Placid, so I'm not entirely ignorant of what to expect, except my youth was 40 years ago, way before I got into bikes and looked for places to ride them. I'm coming from Colorado where I am extremely spoiled for both trails and weather, can ride several hundred miles of trail essentially from my house and the riding season is every one of them. I'm riding an Intense T-29 with 160/150 front/rear, I like technical, rocky, fast flowy and I climb to descend. I also ride road and commuter bikes. I've been riding mtbs since 1985 and designing and building trails for over a decade.

What am I in for? You can bike commute from @ when to when? Mountain bike season is? Fatbike is key for winter? What are the trails like around Burlington? Lots of nested loops? I looked on various trail sites and it looks limited, is there a bunch of stuff under the radar? The road riding looks great, should I resign myself to that?

What parts of town are better for trail accessability? I'd be working downtown.

I ski/ski tour/nordic ski, so if riding shuts down in the winter, I'm ok with that.

I know it's a lot of questions, thanks in advance for the help.

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    The trail riding from Burlington without a drive is limited. Within an hour there is a lot. Biking goes from April to hunting season in late November. Sometimes a little riding after that...maybe quite a bit in the Champlain Valley.
    Bike commuting....depends on how bad you want it. Within Burlington, probably all year except snow days if you really want it.