Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2007

Pine Hill Park - Couple of Questions

Hey all, from a neighbor just across the border in NY.

Thinking about making the drive over to Rutland (about 45 minutes) in the next few weeks to hit PHP. Ive read a few other threads on the park and it seems like its my kind of ridings - lots of flowy buff stuff with a chance to get technical if I'm feeling frisky.

I'm a pretty timid beginner so its going to depend on when I can get someone to come with me, but I'm thinking maybe the second weekend of October.

How late do the trails stay good? Could I make it my go-to weekend riding place into November?

How well are the trails marked? Seems like the suggested route for beginners is Escalator > Svelte Tiger > Sisyphus Rembrandts Brush > Sore Elbow. Looks like I'd be able to make this a loop by using the road to circle back around to Rembrandts Brush then ride Svelte Tiger > Escalator on my way out. Would someone that hasn't ever been there end up turned around and lost? Would also like to hit a couple of the bridges while I'm there.

I know there are a ton of route recommendation threads so I'm trying not to duplicate those but if you have any recommendations, I'm all ears.

Thanks in advance

Moderator Moderator
    It's well marked and easy to navigate (you mostly just go downhill to return to the trailhead). Print off the color map from home as it's easier to read than the black/white one sometimes available at the trailhead. Maps It will still be open in November, but if you're a beginner, you might like it better before a lot of leaves fall and stay wet as the days get shorter. I don't know if they do any leaf-blowing or not. Have fun!

SP Singletrack rocks
    Aug 2006
    your route should be great for beginner. Instead of escalotor on the way out id probably go Exit Theory.

If you wanted to extend the ride go check out Droopy Muffin, to Salmander, to Voldemrot, to Birches. all fairly easy to ride.