mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Burke Mt. VT -What to expect? My first time with lift service and full suspension

In a couple weeks I'm heading out on vacation, stopping in Vermont for a a week on our way to Maine for a week. I plan to do two days riding the kingdom trails in Vermont. One day on the Darling trails with my girlfriend and one day solo at Mount Burke.

I've never ridden on lift serviced runs before and I'll be renting a bike while I'm there. I've been thinking about getting a full suspension bike (right now I only have a rigid SS 29er) so I'm really excited to try one out on these trails.

So what should I expect from this experience? I've been snowboarding for years, so I'm no stranger to a chair lift but still I've never done this before so I'm not sure how to prepare. Extra pads? Do I need to bring a lock? Ride with a backpack? Can the girlfriend amuse herself at Burke while I ride?

I should say that I've been riding for many years, I can handle a bike and I have a BMX background. I'm not much of a dirt jumper anymore these days but definitely looking forward to some features I don't have on my Michigan/Indiana trails.

Thanks

mtbr member
    It depends... if your riding the bike park which is the only trails the lift serves, you will be riding mostly machine built trails with huge berms and table tops etc... to get up to the other stuff the more DH oriented you have your girlfriend drive you up the campground toll road and drop you off at the top and do that a couple times so you can hit the different trails from the top. I haven't ridden the free ride trail so I can't chime in as to difficulty but I've read they don't like you to ride it alone... J-bar is pretty passable just take it easy your first time a couple of the steeps jump out at you the first time...
    determined to put the "mountain" back in "MOUNTAIN BIKING!!!" "HIT IT!"
    2012 MOJO HDeeeeeeee!!!!
    2010 scott CR1 comp

mtbr member
    Jul 2011