MTB, Road, Commuting

Blackstrap Community Forest, Maine

What's the deal with this? I have heard these trails are great and decided to try them last weekend. I started at the trailhead on blackstrap road closest to mountain road. As soon as the trail got into the woods it was some double black diamond boulder gardens. The bridges have entrences that are a foot and a half off the ground with no way to get on them for any riders other than experts. The first 1/2 mile trail that I could ride was so muddy that I felt like I was going to damage it by being on it (even though most other trails aren't wet). So I retreated and went to Lowell preserve where I could ride all the trails and there was no mud at all.

So, did I just hit the hardest section or is the whole thing like that? I'm not an expert rider but I didn't think I sucked that much. IDK, maybe I do. And what about that water? Lowell Preserve is only a mile or so away and the whole place was dry vs. trail damage mucky.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Maine?

MTB, Road, Commuting
    Sorry, yes. I changed the title in case there are others.

mtbr member
    You entered at the wrong spot. The best trail heads are at the cat place down past Babbage road on the right or on Hurricane rd. next to the turnpike. The section you did was built for hikers mainly.

That being said, it can get a little sloppy after it has rained.

Also, stop in at Allspeed bike shop for more info. They are the trail stewards.

MTB, Road, Commuting
    Thanks! I was thinking it looked a little rough. I just picked the entrance that was closest to me that I saw parking for. What's the "cat place"? Kittys or tractors? I saw what looked like it was supposed to be a trailhead almost right across from Babbage but I didn't see any parking there. I didn't look that hard either because I knew I was heading to the spot up the hill.