Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2006

My El Rey has arrived!

Actuallly I got it Thursday but didn't get a chance to take photos until today. Larry at Mountain High Cyclery did a fantastic job of building it for me and I only had to struggle with the rear derailuer for 30 minutes (because I'm a sucky bike mechanic) before I had the bike ready for it's photo shoot. Soooo lets take a look at what I've ended up with, remember I had worries that my spec list was pretty close to Fo's El Rey which of course is cause for concern but I think in the end my Rey is just different enough not to be classified as a Fo' Rey .

Arrrrgggghhhhh! Larry sent me a Giant, not the Ventana I ordered!!

Whew, just a box to ship it in, not a Giant bike!! First up is a shot of the rear hub. It's a Hadley Hub laced to a Stan's Flow rim. Both front and back rims had the stickers removed.

Front Hub is also a Hadley laced to a Stan's Flow rim.

Let's take a look at the front hub with DTSwiss RWS ratchet skewer and Formula K-24 Brake

Out back we have another DTSwiss skewer and Formula K-24 Brake

Ok Ok I can't hide it any more, time to show the full bike. Is the frame Orange like Fo's? Grinch Green? Superdust? No, No and No it is.....................

White with a gold sparkle clear coat. I couldn't get a good photo of the sparkle coat. It is very subtle but does glimmer in the sunlight.

Great looking paint and I'm very happy with the color I've chosen. I was a bit worried that maybe the gold hubs/nipples/headset/seatpost clamp would be too blingy but it seems to be ok to my eye.

Here is a shot of the Pushed RP-23 High Volume shock

A closer look at the headset

Two pictures of the cockpit area with the FSA Gravity handle bar, X-9 shifters and K-24 brake levers

And one final shot of the bike again

Build list;

19" Ventana El Rey in White with gold sparkle coat
    Fox F-29 fork @ 100mm PUSH'ed
    Fox RP-23 High Volume shock PUSH'ed