mtbr member
    Jun 2004

First ride -- 2012 ElCiclon

Well, after a lot of logistical issues including a cross country move, I finally go my 2012 ElCiclon built up.

[IMG][/IMG]

First thought: AMAZING! I have been riding an X-5 for about 6 years. Both an 04 frame and a 2007 frame. Weights (using the same wheel set on both bikes) are darn close. My X-5 was running 30lbs 13 oz. The 2012 ElCiclon as built is 29lbs 10oz. However, running in 150 mode for the rear shock/rockers...the 2012 ElCiclon pedals so much more efficiently than my 2007 X-5 (pushed RP23) that the bike feels like it weighs less. I just can't get over how much better the bike pedals. Even with the pro-pedal completely off...it is WAY better.

I'm still not sure about the internal cable routing. It looks really cool. However, this is bike #7 that I have built, and I have never had so much trouble with the derailleurs.

I carefully followed the instructions provided for routing the cables. Makes me wonder if something else is up with the bike like the chain line is off. I had the shop I bought the frame from install the PF30 adapter and a hope ceramic external BB. Right now, I'm not sure how many spacers are installed on the external bearings.

As it stands right now, I can't put the front XT der in a position such that I can use all of the rear cogs on the 11-34 cassette without the chain rubbing either inboard or outboard sides of the front der. On the first ride...it wouldn't stay in the 32t cog unless I cranked up the tension on the barrel adjuster such that my indexing was off by 1 cog. Honestly, the rear der was acting as if I had a bent hanger, but looks good to me.

Overall, bike is totally sweet. If only I can figure out how to get use of the full range of gears on it.

More specs on the bike in the setup thread here: The Set-Up Thread

Team Chilidog!