mtbr member

Considering a El Commandante

OK ... really need some more help here.

I am considerin a used 2011 Vantana El Commandante.

Currently on a Niner One9 with Nioner rigid fork. Tired of the EBB issues, plus a few other problems i am having.

Pluses...

Takes a 27.2 seatpost, and I have a Thomson Masterpiece.

Adjustable dropouts ... no ebb.

Standard 1 1/8 headtube, so I can use the King headset currently on my Niner.

It is a 22" seattube, with a 24.7" toptube. My Niner is only a 19" ST, but the toptube is essentially the same, at 24.5"

Anyone riding one of these? The seller offers a 14 day no questions asked refund. He will sell me the frame for $675 with free shipping, so if I wanted to build it and found the fit is no good, I could return it and it would only cost me the shipping.

Any feedback on this frame ... how it rides, how well the adjustable droputs work, how you think it would be built rigid with my Niner carbon fork, would be appreciated.

SPP
    Rigid.

Ultra Ventanaphile
    I have a Chiquillo, built to run 650B wheels, thats the same build as the Commandante.. (Swing DO, etc). It's stiff, yet tuned, it's not brutally stiff like my Toro. The Dropouts have 3 points of contact each, and are very stiff and strong, no slippage what so ever.

Sounds like the fit should be very close, the .2" difference can be adusted out with a short stem.

I know there's a few out there with rigid Niner forks, and haven't heard anybody complain!

-A
    -Aaron G.

"Before D.W., "anti-squat" was referred to as pedal feedback."

change is good
    Sep 2004
    I have a Niner carbon fork on mine. The EBB on my custom steel frame was driving me nuts. The Comandante rides better than my old frame and the tensioning system is issue free. CS length is a little long but is not a big deal to me.

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    I have one with the Niner Carbon fork as well. I really enjoy mine. I have an El Rey as well and more often than not, I grab the El Comm.