Tire Geek O_o

New question here. Summer job in a bike shop in USA/CANADA?

Hi there, I am not sure where to post this, so IŽll start here.

Why am I asking this? Well I am an engineer 30, I have been a consultant for a while, traveling much and having almost no time for personal life. I love AM biking, and i am a DH enthusiast, I love reading about bikes and ride testing stuff (particularly tires, which are the most accessible components).

I have decided to take a break, and thus left my job in December 2010, I have recently returned to Mexico (i am mexican) and started looking for jobs. The panorama looks pretty grim and havent found anything yet.

Last night it the idea of having a part time job in a bike shop (my first thought was in whistler) during the summer where I could make some money, and most importantly, ride every day and learn about bike mechanics from the ground up wouldnt be such a bad idea. After all I have nothing better todo and this could be a fun adventure before life and age settles in.

I have if this crazy thought is possible and no idea where can I start looking for options.
    Therefore I decided to post it and see how it goes.

I will appreciate any info or advice.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    You can definitely get a job at a bike shop for the summer.

My suggestion is to put together a good resume, including your professional engineering experience, and in your cover letter explain how you are an intelligent, educated person who is interested in working temporarily/part time at a bike shop for the summer season.

Then, call around and talk to the managers and owners of bike shops. If you impress them on the phone and can send them a good resume, I think most bike shops would be thrilled to have you around in some fashion.

Especially if you'll work Saturday mornings!

Tire Geek O_o
    Thanks ss85, I will definitely devote this week to find something =) I really and badly need some weeks in the mountains.

mtbr member