mtbr member
    Oct 2013

MTB vacation recommendations for an intermediate?

I'm finally treating myself to the vacation I deserve. Looking to spend a week or two mountain biking and/or hiking (hike-a-bike? ha ha) here in the US, but I've never done this before. I've read about Utah and Colorado as being great destinations (Moab, Durango) and would love to make stops at breweries in the evenings.

I think I'm an intermediate - tried this skill level guide on Whistler's site and I seem to be around level 5 but could be a high 4. I am confident on technical terrain, sorta weary about steep terrain I'm not familiar with (I do ride the brakes then), fine hopping over obstacles without stopping (or falling), I get air time doing some jumping on tracks around my area (central-west NJ) but not a whole lot.

Any recommendations? Would love to go on a vaca where I get coaching too...

Thanks in advance,

Chris

C'dale Rush Lefty
    Jun 2004
    Moab and much of south Utah is hot in the summer. Durango is cooler and much higher altitude. You can bike Moab but get up at 5:30 AM and hit the trails until 11. Bring plenty of water and electrolytes to replace lost salts.

I've made a few trail analysis for intermediates videos in south Utah. This is a popular wine for Moab Moab Mountain Biking for Intermediates - A Trail Analysis - YouTube. From this one you should be able to find the others on YouTube.

Advanced level trails are almost entirely rideable by intermediates. Just jump off the bike at places that look too risky.

Lots of great biking near Fruita and Grand Junction, CO. Also hot during the day. Visit Over The Edge bike shop in Fruita for current info.

If you go to Zion then Thunder Mountain Trail near Bryce is terrific. Mountain Biking The Thunder Mountain Trail - An Analysis For Intermediates - YouTube