mtbr member

Moab ride guide?

Hello all...

I am looking to head out to Moab in October (Columbus Day weekend, actually) for a couple days, and was wondering if anyone had a recommendation of anyone who would be able to guide a first-timer out there?

I've been riding since 1988, and will be just coming off the Pisgah Stage Race, so I am an experienced rider, and though I live in the flatland, hopefully I am in good enough shape to hammer out a couple days and knock an item off my bucket list.

C'dale Rush Lefty
    Jun 2004
    You don't need a guide. Stop at one of the four bike shops and buy a map and chat with them. You will have no problem finding trailheads or way finding on the trails. Also no problem riding alone on the popular trails. Plenty of riders come along if you get in trouble.

The trails are covered pretty well on YouTube and Utah Mountain Biking - Trails, Information, Repairs.

My intro to Moab video is for intermediates but may be helpful Moab Mountain Biking for Intermediates - A Trail Analysis - YouTube

Jim

one sick puppy
    Hey Mike,
    I've ridden with you at Palos. I'm an old guy and my brother and I went to Fruita / Moab / Cortez /Durango last October and loved it. I don't think you need a guide out there but it would be nice to be riding with someone in case you take a tumble. Trails are pretty easy to follow, maps are good and there are a lot of riders out at that time of the year. It was my first time but my brothers third time at Moab. Try to hit Fruita as well. There is some very sweet riding over there. See you on the trails if they ever dry out. WallyO
    Saddle up, Effendi. We ride.

Desert Seeker
    Like the others said, Moab is very user friendly if you want to get around on your own. If you want to get out on the trails with someone who is local, shoot me a PM.

C'dale Rush Lefty
    Jun 2004
    Yikes! Ride with a local! They are crazy strong on those trails. I've seen their children ride advanced rock.