mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Burke Mt. VT -What to expect? My first time with lift service and full suspension

In a couple weeks I'm heading out on vacation, stopping in Vermont for a a week on our way to Maine for a week. I plan to do two days riding the kingdom trails in Vermont. One day on the Darling trails with my girlfriend and one day solo at Mount Burke.

I've never ridden on lift serviced runs before and I'll be renting a bike while I'm there. I've been thinking about getting a full suspension bike (right now I only have a rigid SS 29er) so I'm really excited to try one out on these trails.

So what should I expect from this experience? I've been snowboarding for years, so I'm no stranger to a chair lift but still I've never done this before so I'm not sure how to prepare. Extra pads? Do I need to bring a lock? Ride with a backpack? Can the girlfriend amuse herself at Burke while I ride?

I should say that I've been riding for many years, I can handle a bike and I have a BMX background. I'm not much of a dirt jumper anymore these days but definitely looking forward to some features I don't have on my Michigan/Indiana trails.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Extremely interested in this thread as I am planning the same trip the end of September......

Sorry for the lack of help

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    [QUOTE=ezyrydr;9562827]In a couple weeks I'm heading out on vacation, stopping in Vermont for a a week on our way to Maine for a week. I plan to do two days riding the kingdom trails in Vermont. One day on the Darling trails with my girlfriend and one day solo at Mount Burke.

I've never ridden on lift serviced runs before and I'll be renting a bike while I'm there. I've been thinking about getting a full suspension bike (right now I only have a rigid SS 29er) so I'm really excited to try one out on these trails.