mtbr member
    Feb 2008

West Valley City

So I'm new to SLC and I just moved to West Valley City, and I'm sure its not the best choice for mountain biking access, but it was affordable and close to work, so its where I am for now.
    I am curious what is my closest biking trail? Even if its not too great, just something to ride when time is short and I don't feel like driving far.

Thanks

mtbr member
    If you haven't seen it already, take a look at skidmap.com. I'm guessing BST, maybe corner canyon in Draper, Yellow fork in Herriman would be the closest trails to you. There's the Germania trail off the Jordan River Parkway...it's dirt, kinda fun. Pretty short. About 50th south. Since you're pretty well locked into driving, don't overlook Mueller Park in Bountiful or Wild rose trails in North Salt lake. Once you're on the freeway there's a lot within 30 mintues (most of Park city for instance)
    I'm looking forward to regretting this.......

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Just head to the hills. Most of the stuff just to your west (with the Mine) is closed Kennecott property, but down in the southern corner there's a couple spots off Herriman and atop Butterfield Canyon. To the South East is Draper (Big Temple in the corner) and litterally right behind that Temple are trail heads for Corner Canyon. Hit up Draper City's page for trail maps (trailhead signs have them too).

Bonneville Shoreline makes the "bench" (ancient lake that filled this area) and there's a trail network that's mostly complete that rides from Point of the Mountain in Draper north through Ogden.

Up behind the UofU is a huge network of trails, and as the snow melts, everything up high will come open (June-ish) as well as the resorts pushing their trails. Mostly weekend trips down south are in for winter - 3 hours opens the Mecca of Mountain Biking to you with southern Utah - St. George and Moab.

Good luck and enjoy!

mtbr member
    Feb 2013