mtbr member

Good job! Spare a minute to recommend a tire to the new guy?

I'm new to Utah but I've been riding some of the local trails up Provo canyon, AF canyon, and a few trips to park city. I'm building a titanium (Lynskey) 29er hardtail that will be light but also durable, built for the variety of local trails and the occasional race. My wheels are Stan's Arch and I'm going to run tubeless. Anyone have any recommendations for a tire to handle all this? My LBS recommended Maxxis Crossmark but they didn't have much else, I'm also looking at Maxxis Ignitor, Geax Saguaro, Schwalbe Racing Ralph. Any opinions are very appreciated.
    Last edited by The Boz; 10-24-2011 at 08:24 AM.

Bike Snob
    If you can spend the money go with the Schwable RR's.

Hey Boz, remember when you almost had a career in the NFL and then Bo Jackson put and end to it .... that was awesome

BO JACKSON VS Brian Bosworth - YouTube

mtbr member
    Thanks for the reply. My NFL career was cut short from hits like that one, but it really just allowed me to pursue my true passion in acting. So after I landed that role in "Stone Cold" I actually sent Bo a thank-you card and we are still pen-pals. But he's mostly into bow hunting while I'm against animal cruelty so that has hindered our relationship.

Thanks for the recommendation on the Racing Ralphs. Look for "Blazing Bosworths" in 2012.

JMH
    Sugary Exoskeleton
    What tires are the locals running/recommending?

Most folks have good luck with Stans The Crow or Specialized Fat Boys but YRMV. I guess it mostly depends on humidity.

JMH

Paste eater
    I'm down in Moab, so a bit different but...

I would not recommend the ignitors to anyone. I'm not terribly picky when it comes to tires but there are a few that I really don't like. My beef is they are:

1) Too hard a compound and buzz like a muverfarker on just about everything especially in the wet. Have not used them on slickrock but I can not imagine it to be a good situation