mtbr member
    May 2011

Really? "Regulation" forbids Whole Enchilada shuttling until June?

So I was getting all excited about making my first trip out to Moab next week. I was hoping to get a chance to go before my first child is born in May.

Being a Moab newb, I called the LBS in town to ask about shuttling and was told that new "regulation" forbids shuttling to the top of Whole Enchilada. We would only be able to get shuttle rides to Porcupine, Mag 7, and something else.

Really? Is this true? I don't want to make the trip all the way out to Moab if I have to miss riding the whole enchilada.

beater

Burro Pass is at 11,000 feet, steep, north-facing and heavily wooded. It'll be buried in snow for months yet. There is no way it would be rideable in your window of opportunity.
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

YRG
    mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    I think Burro is up for discussion and might be on the chopping block. Not sure if it would affect hazard. Check the Moab trail closures threatened thread

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Sorry, I should clarify my post. I heard that the regulation applies until June (not permanently).

evasive, thanks for the info. I didn't realize the area was still covered in snow. I guess I should have done more research before getting my hopes up for a trip at this time of year.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004