New to St. George

Printable View

• 08-19-2012
    thmslilly
    New to St. George
    Hello St. George area riders,

I'm in day three of my time here in St. George. I just relocated here from the midwest to take up an internship with the BLM. Just wondering if anyone would like to ride some trails? I'm very new to the desert riding (obviously) but think that I can handle much of it, except maybe this heat :madmax: .. I'd like to find some people to ride with and show me around town and around all these great trails.

Happy riding,
    Tom
  • 08-19-2012
    can't get right
    Welcome Tom, what cyclist doesn't enjoy having a friend in the BLM office?

Get used to getting up early in the summer and riding before it gets hot. The other 8 months you can pretty much ride whenever you want.

I mostly ride pavement in the summer but come October I will look you up.
  • 08-19-2012
    Hurkinite
    I usually ride Church Rocks a few times a week about 6:30 - 6:45 AM. It's just a quick hour or less ride before work but its nice and cool.

Friday and Saturday mornings I ride the mesas above Hurricane for a few hours. If I feel like braving the evening heat I ride Jem and Gould's on weeknights.

Over The Edge bike shop in Hurricane usually puts together a group ride on Saturdays that starts at 8:00 AM. The next one won't be until September but there's usually a decent group that shows up. The ride is usually posted on their facebook page.

I'm kinda slow and usually ride alone but send me a PM if you want to ride. I'm on the trails almost every day.
  • 08-19-2012
    Moosey
    When I was in St. George visiting family I hit Bearclaw Poppy trail. I'm a DH/FR guy, but it was still tons of fun. I sent the big drops, and my dad went around all that on his janky old XC bike. We both had tons of funs. There's a lot of different line choices to spice things up. Definitely worth checking out. Just google it. it's easy to find.