Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

FR/DH trail advice in SLC/Park City area for Idaho guy

2K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  Err 
#1 ·
Hey there,

I am heading down to SLC from Boise for work in a week and a half and plan to haul my bike with me. I am going to have about 6 or 7 hours to ride on the morning after my work event (I plan to start riding about 6AM and go til noon or 1, then drive back to Boise), and I'd like to pack in the best riding I can in that time. I was thinking about going up to Park City first to ride that little bike park that was put in there last year for a bit, and then head back to SLC and ride Bobsled quick.

However, I thought I'd check with you guys here to see if you might have some better ideas for me. I'll be on my Cove STD and I'll be solo. I am no pro, and I am also old (44), but I do enjoy jumps/flow/skinnys/ladders and basically any interesting features a trail might have. Here's a little vid I did of last year's riding:

Jim Montgomery - 2011 Edit Video - Pinkbike.com

Thanks in advance for the help.

#3 ·
The Bob's Basin stuff across the freeway from Arcylon is fun, too. The climb is mellow and you can get a lap in about 20 minutes. None of it is like your videos, obviously, but it is fun for an hour or two of playing around. I kinda like it better than Bobsled, which is a fun 5 minutes of fury, but almost isn't worth the long trip back to the top.

If you do go ride Bobsled, you're right by the I-Street jumps, so you could hit those, too.

Nice vid, by the way.

#4 ·
Hey,

Thanks much for the advice/help......appreciate it. Sounds to me like I ought to try Arcylon and Bob's Basin and maybe also Bobsled if I've got time......I think I'll bail on the Trail Side Park. Do you guys happen to have any directions to Arcylon/Bob's Basin and Bobsled? If so, any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

#5 ·