mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Brighton - Big Cottonwood Canyon, Daily Commute

If you were to commute 5 days a week from Brighton in Big Cottonwood Canyon to Sandy (Near the Sandy REI) and try to ride up as often as your body could take it (There is a car lift as a back up plan) what bike would you buy?

1. Full Suspension, front fork only, full rigid

2. Multiple gears, small stack, etc...

3. Just get a road bike.

Specific bike models are appreciated. I am 5'8" 175 lbs with plans to be trimmer (don't we all). I usually am very fanatical about my playing.

Thanks for any help and advice.

I am relatively new to all this, but I pick things up quickly.

Also add any routes down/up if you have specific local knowledge. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    I'd go with a road bike because you're going to be on road the whole time. That being said, I really dislike riding my road bike. If you go with a full suspension, something that locks out the rear would be nice for the commute of death you plan on making.

But a quick route that isn't too trafficy is to just go down Big, take a left onto wasatch blvd. Contiune on wasatch and take the right to go past LaCai, continue through the light at 90th and take your first right into the neighborhood, go down until it T's and take a left, follow that for a while until you hit a stop sign, then take a right and ride down (that puts you on 106th going west). Not the absolute shortest but your not going to riding with crazies on state.

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    However, if you want to have more fun during the warmer months, you could go up the Guard rode to the Crest and ride into Millcreek and down Pipeline. At commuting hours it wouldn't be very crowded so you could rip down for ~24 miles of dirt on the way to work

Of course the Crest has >100" of snow on it right now.

I'd be very jealous of that commute

Bored Carp