Thread: 29er in Moab?

mtbr member
    Sep 2010

29er in Moab?

Does anyone here ride a 29er out in Moab? I ride a Niner Rip9 (120mm f/r) and I'm wondering if this will be enough bike to handle trails like Porcupine Rim and others around the area. It soaks up small chatter very well and has made several 4-5 foot drops in the past, but I hate to take it out there only to bring it back in pieces. Thanks in advance for any advice!

beater
    Not a local, but I've ridden 29ers in Moab many times. Your RIP9 should work well for you. Have fun!
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

mtbr member
    I saw several on Porc last time I rode it. Not as common as on other trails, I suppose (some trails around here seem to be almost 50/50), but they seemed to be doing just fine. I know my uncle has ridden his SC Tallboy on Porc a few times as well.
    '11 Specialized Enduro Expert for the trails
    '13 Felt Z4 for the road

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Your making too much of this wheel size thing.

You bike is perfect for Moab. I think the differences between wheel sizes are overstated, but this is the first time I have heard anyone think thier bike could not go somewhere because of the wheel size. Personally I think Moab in general is ideal for 29 inch wheels. Lots of Undulation, Chunks, and short sections that require monentum.
    Visiting St george/Hurricane? Stay at my vacation rental. Discounts for MTB's

http://www.vrbo.com/392904

PM me

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dgreene2010 View Post
    Does anyone here ride a 29er out in Moab? I ride a Niner Rip9 (120mm f/r) and I'm wondering if this will be enough bike to handle trails like Porcupine Rim and others around the area. It soaks up small chatter very well and has made several 4-5 foot drops in the past, but I hate to take it out there only to bring it back in pieces. Thanks in advance for any advice!