Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2004

Why doesn't my BMX bike have front brakes?

I know this isn't a BMX forum, but I know some of you are into BMX. I jJust picked up a DK Dayton bike and it has no front brake. None of the BMX bikes from DK seem to have them. And not many from Redline, Eastern, MirraCo, etc have them either.

Why not? For the type of riding I want to do, I think a front brake could be pretty useful. Am I missing something? Seems like it would be better to include one, and if you don't use it, then just remove it, no? So now if I want a front brake, I have to swap out the fork so I have brake posts. PITA!!

I'm a BMX noob so be gentle if the answer is obvious.

Air Junkie
    Most true street riders go brakless, so you already have a leg up on the competition. Front brakes are for the 80's, your not really missin out. They do help with some tricks, but with some time and practice you won't need em

Seriously

Meh.
    You don't really need brakes. Learn to shift your weight or do footjams to get your rear end up. Brakes just end up being extra weight and something else that can break.

Rollin' twenties.
    Apr 2006
    because they are lame

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    Extra wires make barspins harder.

rock hard or hardrock
    the real reason is it for DJing not for street ones for street have a gyro
    www.transitionbikes.com

"The journey of 1,000 miles begins with one step" -Bear Grylls

Jesus Freak
    Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by derfernerf
    the real reason is it for DJing not for street ones for street have a gyro
    Not necessarily. The Dayton is designed for street. DK Site

The 4 Pack and 6 Pack and such are park/trail bikes.

DK dj bikes are the General Lee models.

Gyro's are not for front brakes anyways since the front brake cable is routed through the stem and out the fork leg.
    Gyro's are for the rear brake cable.

Meh.