Air Junkie

Why 26" in the front and 24" in the rear?

Not to sound like a total newb, but whats the advantage of a 24" specific bike with a 26" up front? I own a 24" front n back KGM(made in germany) and a 26" front n back GSR Hooligan and a 24" front n back KHS FR2000 But never tried 24"R/26"F setup. Am i missing out? I know manuals are easier with a 24" but what else.
    Last edited by Sudden_Judgement; 09-16-2006 at 08:01 PM.

mtbr remember
    Quote Originally Posted by Sudden_Judgement
    Not to sound like a total newb, but whats the advantage of a 24" specific bike with a 26" up front? I own a 24" front n back KGM(made in germany) and a 26" front n back GSR Hooligan and a 24" front n back KHS FR2000 But never tried 24"R/26"F setup. Am i missing out? I know manuals are easier but what else.

NO reason at all.... I don't know why that would make manuals easier? depending on the frame, it just rakes out the geometry, making the HA slack, which the only advantage is tackling the steeps, or "oh shift" moments close to going over the bars. now, some frames may have been designed around this setup, such as the Endless Lifetime, but this is rare. Now you see the similar idea going up to XC mtb, in the "69'er" with a 29'er front and 26'er rear. now this idea is that a larger front wheel rolls over obstacles easier... might be the case in the 26/24, but I don't desire it. I'm riding 24 straight, so I just try to bunny hop everything.
    I don't think you're missing out at all, but maybe others would disagree.... I like my steep head angle for street.
    Schralp it Heavy.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    26 up front is more stable and gets through obstacles better, 24 in the back accelerates adn rolls easier and faster.

Air Junkie
    Quote Originally Posted by Raghavan
    26 up front is more stable and gets through obstacles better, 24 in the back accelerates adn rolls easier and faster.