mtbr member
    Jun 2008

trying to get into uf/dj riding

hi, I have been riding bmx for a lone time and last year i wanted to get into mountain biking. i started riding some XC and loved it but now im looking for somthing with a bit more of an adrenaline rush. I dont exactly want to get a downhill freeride rig beacuse im not able to get out to places to ride downhill to often. so i was looking into the urban freeride scene. it seemed to fit since i love riding bmx street.

(sorry for the noob questions, i did alot of searches and reading before posting so try not to flame me for my noob status)

all i really know is im pritty definate on wanting it to be a single speed and a 26. from all the reading ive been doing it seems that the specalized P series bikes are populer and i was thinking about goin that route. i also hapened to stumble across the GT ruckus UF. but in the bmx community GT doesnt exactly get the best rep for reliability. is same with the mountain biking scene here? according to a few here the forks it comes with arent to good. also what would be more reccomended 24 or a 26?

alot of people say its better to build up your own, but with my limited knowledge of parts and experiance riding uf/dj i wouldnt know what parts to peace together. so a complete would probably be the best route for me. i can beat on it and change parts while i (try to) progress.

thanxs for the help evryone. this forum already seems alot more welcoming than my bmx forum

Yo!
    mtbr member
    Hey dude congrats on getting into the scene.

What I did was run through the "post your dj's" thread and look what everyone else is riding, just to get a feel of the parts that are floating around and popular.

If you're into buying used, Pinkbike.com has a good for sale section, as does this site.

Ebay is useful for parts only, imo, not so much for completes.

Also check through the reviews section, as it has soooo much feedback from actual riders.