mtbr member
    Apr 2007

is there any racers in cruiser class here

hey ive been riding my kona alot lately and i love it and all but i think i wanna try racing bmx. im looking for someone to point me in the right direction to start. i was thinking of building up a standard 125rc to race on but i have know idea on what good components there are for racing. im 6'3" 200 lbs and dropping more for wrestling if it helps
    Last edited by Formerbmx37; 02-11-2009 at 06:15 PM.
    Bikes are better then women, at least you get to ride them when ever you want.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Race the Kona. You will have more fun racing it than a cruiser. If you get real serious then build you a cruiser. I Have been racing for many years and love racing my jump bike. I raced a STP a couple of years ago and loved it. I race a Eastern 24" night train now. You can be competitive on a 26" if you want to. The main thing is have fun. Jim

mtbr member
    i race my blackmarket mob. (30-14 gear, 80mm travel Manitou Gold Label fork).

it helps to add extra air pressure to your fork, or run a fork with stiff springs.

@wishEMT
    mountainbikes are all i see in cruiser class nowadays here, i was competitive last year on my 30lb sanchez against cruisers

mtbr member
    +1 on racing the mtbike in cruiser

took a 4th and a 6th at guthrie nationals on this thing after a 7 year layoff

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    only think about racing my kona is all the changes id have to do to it
    id have to get new handlebars because i dont wanna cut my weezies which would mean getting a new stem because im running a demolition f-1 right now.