mtbr member
    Nov 2010

rolling resistance...1st post

This is my first post. I have made a progression of BMX bikes in the past 6 months. I am an older guy trying to relive the glory of my youth I guess. Started with an SE Floval Flyer 24 to race with my 5 y/o. Street was my thing as a kid so picked up a Sunday Model C and installed front brakes and a rotor. I just got an Eastern Night Train from JensonUSA last week...love it. I may be hard pressed to get back on my Model C?

The Night Train rolls like it is riding through pea gravel, when it is on the asphalt. It has a Kenda Small Block 8 2.35 on front an I am assuming this is the cause of the sluggish ride? Tires are pumped pretty hard although I haven't put a gauge on them. What would be a better option for a front tire that would see mostly street but still suitable for dirt? Should I go narrower?

Also, I have no experience with the 20mm through axle. Could it be contributing to the slow ride? If so, what should I do to make it better?

pnj
    mtbr member
    Dec 2008
    Head tube angles will play a big role in how slow a bike reacts. I think the Eastern has a slacker HT, but I could be wrong.

If your'e riding street/cement then don't run knobbys and run more then 65 PSI in them.

I like fatter tires myself.

20mm shouldn't effect the feel, if anything it's going to be stiffer. But the squishy fork WILL effect the feel.

as for specific tires, I can't help....

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    pnj-thanks for the response.

The HT angle is a touch milder than my BMX bikes...but still feels pretty snappy. I am okay with that.

With regard to the 20mm through axle, I was wondering if there are any hints as to not over/under tighten the axle into the fork? Lube the axle?

Any DJ use the Intense MK2 tire on the front or a similar tire? The BMX riders use this tire quite a bit on hard pack. Reviews suggest they are good for DJ, park and hard pack??

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoka Hey