mtbr member
    Oct 2009

The Old Guy's Guide to Re-Entering BMX

Hey folks,

Thought I'd share a passion project that I recently completed: The Old Guy's Guide to Re-Entering BMX. Using inspiration from Sheldon Brown's legacy, I wanted to construct a guide that would help "older" guys and gals get into freestyle BMX. I base this from my experience of getting back into it, myself - the wasted money, time, effort, confusion and frustration of trying to "get it right". At the time, no such guide was available, so I thought I'd give back to the sport I love so much and do it myself.

So far I've had some great responses from BMX industry folks - so I'm happy with that. If you're interested, please take a gander here:

THE OLD GUY'S GUIDE TO RE-ENTERING BMX - INTRODUCTION - Rider In Black

Thanks for looking! - Dion

The Old Guy's Guide to Re-Entering BMX-img_5090.jpg

beater

The Old Guy's Guide to Re-Entering BMX

Fantastic! Thanks very much!
    "Back off, man. I'm a scientist." - Dr. Peter Venkman

Riding in Helena? Everything you need to know, right here.

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    good work! Great detailed write up! I'm only 28 but I too took a hiatus from BMX at about 19 when my bike was stolen and I am just getting back into it about 2 years ago as my interest in bikes was was sparked again about 5 years ago with a cross country ride from NY to san fran then got into cyclocross and then MTB and now back to the roots BMX!

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    couple questions.... so do you think riding brake-less makes you a better rider quicker?

I will agree that the best way to get good at riding your bike is to ride your bike but you don't think strength training will make you a better more able rider?