mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Old full susp mtb bike made into an urban/dj bike?

Here is my bike.

I just moved to florida, where everything is flat and smooth. I love to go fast jump bunny hop wheelie and everything in between. I want to make this bike lighter and more road/urban worthy. so what are things that can help me accomplish this. I am new to biking and don't really have much experience with working on them but I am eager to learn. first off, I was thinking some different tires that have a street like tread. I was reading about converting it to a 1x9. this means take off two of the gears of the crank where your feet are correct? and eventually I would like to make it single gear but I need to learn more. I was thinking of taking the front disc off along with the wire and lever and the obvious seatpost and seat and new bars. what else can I do to make this rig more road/street friendly and shed some lbs?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    whoops, it wont let me post pictures until I hit 10 posts. will post the pic as soon as that happens

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Here is the bike. I think I need to just buy a dj frame though and use this as a donor bike. so I would a new frame, single speed freewheel conversion kit and new bars and seat?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    took off the front disc brake to lose some weight and rid the bars, much more nimble and agile. I would love to make this into a single speed. where can I buy single speed cranks for up next to the peddles?

mtbr member
    dude.... go hard tail and buy yourself a fixi if you want to really crush everyone. I rode with a design organization years ago and several Trek Engineers killed everyone on a single speed no suspension mnt bike. I was silently blown away. Remember the banana seat days of my childhood. We launched onthose in the woods near my house.