mtbr member
    Sep 2009

how to start dirt jumping

I feel kind of dumb for asking this... so I'll explain myself a bit.

I have been riding XC and AM for the past 2 years, and have learned a great amount of skills. I would like to be able to do some light freeriding on my FS bike, as well as some urban riding. From watching friends at the DJ's here, i've decided that I could learn and improve some basic skills I would need to improve my XC/AM/FR whatever you want to call it other riding. It would also be cool to learn another aspect of riding all together.

So I'd like to put together a 26"dj bike, or 24" if I can find everything cheap.

But anyways, the question I'm asking here is how did you guys start? I hit like 4' drops and hucks every now and then on the trails, but when it comes to hitting and actual jump I kind of freeze up.

Has anyone else experienced this transition/fear lol?

Any pointers would be great. Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Actually, its pretty simple to get over the freeze. As soon as to realize and accept that you will wipe and that it will hurt and become okay with it you'll be fine. The only real way to accept this is to just get it over with. Pads and a helm are a good idea when you are starting out. Never give up the helm, though. I still ware pads on my shins/knees and elbows when jumping.

The only real difference between DJ and FR is how you get up to the point where you are coming down. FR and DH you are pretty much always going down. With DJ you have to immediately go up before you come down. So try to think of it in terms of getting to the sweet spot for a premo huck by jumping to it rather than falling through it. Use the jumps to get to your huck.

I know this probably does not seem to answer your question but it is the perspective of a XCer and DJer (mostly a DJer).

mtbr member
    Sep 2010