mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Help with jumping

I have been riding tabletop jumps at my local park for a few months now and i still cant clear them. Im using a 20 inch bmx and I can only get my front wheel all the way over it, i cant go much faster, other riders can clear the same jumps with half the speed. Any suggestions?

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    How's your bunny hops? To clear some bmx style jumps you need to tuck the bike up and kind of lunge forward cause the lips don't launch you very high on there own. Try bringing your knees up as high as you can and see if it helps.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    VID007881 - YouTube

Here is a video of me riding it, maybe you could give suggestions or tell me what I'm doing wrong?

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    your doing good job of pulling the front end up but your legs are fairly pretty straight which is keeping the back of the bike low. Right after you go off the lip if you try to bring your knees up towards your chest I think you will get the distance you need to clear it. If you look at this pic you can see how bent this guys knees are to get the back end to clear.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by hocorider3700 View Post
    VID007881 - YouTube

Here is a video of me riding it, maybe you could give suggestions or tell me what I'm doing wrong?
    You're actually doing pretty good. I thought it would be a lot sketchier.. Your double pump with the bars is a good technique in racing. I think if you just go faster you'll clear it. Look at these bmx racers hauling ass and clearing really long jumps without going that high: ABA 2006 Grand Nationals AA Pro Finals - YouTube