mtbr member
    May 2012

Haro Steel Reserve 1.2 - Good bike for learning bike skills?

Hi,

(Hope this is the right forum). I have absolutely zero riding experience with bmx, dj bikes, etc and I am looking to improve my mountain bike skills as I am pretty new to mtn. biking too. I normally ride XC singletrack, but know that my riding could be improved my learning to do the following:

Manuals, Manuals off of drops, Bunny hops, Riding with flats, Riding a pump track without pedaling, etc

I ride a bike with 29er wagon wheels and longer chain stays which makes learning to do these things pretty difficult. I have a dirt pump track and slalom course by my house that I can use. My LBS is a Haro dealer and can get me some pretty sweet deals on their bikes. I told him want I wanted to do and he recommended the steel reserve over a bike with 24 inch wheels I am 5'11'', 175 pounds with gear, and kinda hard on my wheels.

So do ya'll think this is a good bike for what I am trying to do? If not, what do you suggest. Wasn't trying to spend big dollars either (i.e. over $500).

Tnx,
    Marc

mtbr member
    Yes, that would be a good choice. Google Phil Sundbaum Haro if you want to see the bike in action.

mtbr member
    May 2012
    Great, I think this is what I am looking for. thanks for the info!

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Anybody here have a Steel Reserve with input as to frame sizing? I'm currentlylooking at this and the 1.1 and I'm a little lost on what sizee to be looking for. I'm 5'7", wear size 12 shoes, and I've got a little longer arms than most my height. This bike come with the option of either a 21.8" top tube, or a 22.3" top tube.