mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Enjoy Urban/Park without long-term injuries?

Hi,
    I am a new to riding a dirt-jumper, mostly riding in the streets and a local park.
    As I am on a forced break (got my knee hurt from the pedal while landing from a bench - 100% my fault for not wearing any pads) I started wondering about general heath of the joints while practicing tricks.

I assume that a correct technique will help in most cases, but I am not sure about how should I practice in order to make sure I dont get any long-term injuries and abuse of joints.

Will you please share your thoughts about practicing ?
    Do you think mastering any tricks/abilities in particular can be beneficial to getting the important part of technique that will help avoiding abuse of the body?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Mar 2011
    I'm new to the DJ/Urban game as well, but I've been riding bikes and doing crazy stuff for years. From riding DH, I've found that you just have to commit to most things. When you second guess is when you hesitate and when you get injured. Pads will definitely help out, as will correct technique, but to me, the biggest aspect of getting away unscathed is commitment to whatever you're doing, be it a jump, a trick, or whatever.

Another big thing is patience and riding within your ability. Most times I've suffered injury I've been riding with guys that were at a higher level than me and I tried to step up my game several levels higher than I should have. If I had been more patient and riding more within my capabilities, I probably would have been fine. Be patient and progress naturally. Sure you have to get out of your comfort zone to learn new things, but you shouldn't be trying to walk before you can crawl. Be patient and take your time-there's no rush. Hope that helps a bit and heal up quick!

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Thanks man.
    You really got me thinking in the right direction.