mtbr member

Do you have a 20" bike?

I have an unquenchable bike addiction. I now have five rides, a 6" trail bike, a DH/FR bike, a Cyclocross bike, a DJ bike and a single speed. Now I want a BMX bike. I never rode BMX as a kid and now I get on one and it feels small and weird but I am curious. Would riding a 20" wheel bike help my riding and jumping? What do you all think? I am just getting into jumping and have some doubles in my yard.

Premium Member
    It'll help if you stay committed. I came from XC/DH and started jumping my trail bike. I got a BMX bike, and it was pretty fun, but it's WAY different. Although I learned a lot quickly, it was too weird so I built up an Evil DOC, which is a 26" wheeled jumping bike. Mine was setup similar to a BMX. I liked it, but it was too clumsy. Now I'm building a 24" wheeled bike called a tonic fab Fall Guy. It's got a BMX feel, but it's a bit easier on the wrists, and easier to get used to. I'd recommend something like the FG or DOC before a full on BMX.

mtbr member
    i came from riding BMX and then got into the MTB scene. now that i have been riding 26in bikes for awhile when i have tried out my friend's 20in bike lately it feels very small and uncomfortable, but easy to do tricks on. BMX bikes are really awesome for doing tricks...but for all around DJ'n i would stick to a 24/26in bike for the versitility.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Ojai Bicyclist
    It'll help if you stay committed. I came from XC/DH and started jumping my trail bike. I got a BMX bike, and it was pretty fun, but it's WAY different. Although I learned a lot quickly, it was too weird so I built up an Evil DOC, which is a 26" wheeled jumping bike. Mine was setup similar to a BMX. I liked it, but it was too clumsy. Now I'm building a 24" wheeled bike called a tonic fab Fall Guy. It's got a BMX feel, but it's a bit easier on the wrists, and easier to get used to. I'd recommend something like the FG or DOC before a full on BMX.