Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Dirt Jumping Niche - Can an Old Guy Noob be Accepted?

I recently bought a DJ bike, some people on this site may consider it a poser / inferior bike (its the Specialized P2). I am a beginner but the bike is making me look good cause it jumps so easy, ran it at the local pump track and found the other riders to appreciate the bike instead of hating on it. I am not a stupid man, I understand that DJ'ing is kind of an underground activity that appeals to younger people and they may not want it to turn into a commercialized mainstream activity over-run with posers and hacks. But, what I can say is that the guys I chatted with yesterday were friendly and enthusiastic about my presence there, and my willingness to learn the sport. I guess I expected to be potentially rejected, but I actually found that the DJ set in my city were actually more friendly than the MTB set. Geez, maybe I want it to stay underground myself, now that I think about it. Anyway, next time you see an older guy that seems like a poser at your local DJ park, just give him a chance, he may understand he is kind of out of place, he won't ruin your good time, and he is probably going to do more good for your sport than harm.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    You get old when you stop playing, you stay young when you keep on playing... What I realise with mtb, bmx and skating is that the dudes that meet eachother don't pay attention to age anymore... You might see a group of very young kids have conversations with guys twice their age. It's all about the riding...

Slopestyle Rider
    Old guys get props at the dj's around here. I should know, I'm one of them. While I'm only 36, I still am usually twice the age of most of the kids I ride with.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Yeah, been spending lots of time at the pumptrack lately, the stigma is only perceived. Everyone is cool with everyone being there at all skill levels.