mtbr member
    Oct 2009

Dirt Jumper for Dirt Cheap

First note: I am not a bike mechanic. I would love to be however. I've been able to do all regular maintenance on my bike and a have a friend or two to ask questions. Part of this project is to learn wtf i'm doing.

So i've been looking to get into dirt jumping. I've been practicing the smaller jumps (1.5'-3' tall table tops) near my house and i'm eyeing the big ones.

I've convinced my g/f that i can spend about $300 on a dirt jump bike under two conditions: it has to have front suspension (not a big deal) and it has to have gears. This will be so if she wants to come out on the trails (nothing serious) she will be able to ride the bike. Conditions fine by me.

So my second goal, as previously stated is to learn how to build a bike. I've had trouble finding used bikes in my area in the right price range, so i've looked into building one from scratch (waaaayyy too expensive).

Then today i found this in my area: http://raleigh.craigslist.org/bik/1830422128.html (I am currently inquiring about bike's year to find exact specs. I'm assuming hte bike is an '08 for now http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...4500&Type=bike)

and it got me thinking. I could steal everything off this bike, and put it on a new DJ frame, with new wheels.

Questions i have are:

1. even tho its only $40, are the components that bad that it would not be worth it.
    2. Assuming this plan is a go, Sette shadow vs "05 KHS DJ200 from jenson
    3. I'm a bit concerned that the fork could be damaged, what should i look for? Additionally, would the cheaper XC fork be OK for dirt jumping (i would probably upgrade the fork in about 6 months assuming i'm still into it)
    4. are bottom brackets/headsets/other stuff going to be compatible with the new frame. I dont mind spending 25$ for a new headset, but $120 for a new crankset/bb may be a deal breaker.
    5. What am I looking for in DJ wheels? I'm looking for cheap.

Thanks in advance.