mtbr member

chromoly vs aluminum

I have a question. I went riding today with my buddy that just bought a chase. I have a ritual and thought it was a little heavy, then I rode his and its way lighter and I like that.

I searched and couldnt come up with what Im looking for. Would I be better off selling my frame and getting something like a used p1, or looking for a lighter chromoly frame.

Im 200lbs and a total noob jumping small stuff. I hear people saying aluminum will break but I dont jump big enough to do much damage. My bike is also running 24s and I totally liked his 26s better.

On that note, anyone want to trade frames and bottom brakets, lol!

I post too much.
    Both materials have their strengths and drawbacks.

Aluminum:
    -Pros: for the same strength it will usually come lighter than it's steel brethren, much stiffer material(can be good or bad), does not corrode
    Cons: harder to weld, cannot be welded again if it cracks unless heat treated(6061 only, 7005 is fine), not as cush of a ride as steel, tends to catastrophically fail(can also crack or bend, crack is more likely)

Steel(aka chromoly, it's all the same, it's a steel alloy)
    Pro: A more cush ride, tends to absorb and dampen vibration and shocks, tends to bend rather than break(though breakage can occur), it looks nicer on a frame IMO. easier to weld
    Cons: Will be slightly heavier no matter what, rusts

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    Dude...some steel frames are up to 2 KG lighter than aluminium bikes. Take the GT Chucker, its 15,6 KG!!! fíng heavy compared to a...blk mrkt riot bike, which is chromo and weighs 12.5 KG... pretty light. Weight isn't so much of an issue since both are about the same, just depends on the price.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    it seems this subject comes up alot
    each frame has its limitations
    i imagine if you found a good aluminum frame it would last forever if you dont abuse it