Hip
    mtbr member

Buying Wheels...Suggestions?

My bike has 3/8 Axles. I am a complete Newb to the park bikes and have no clue what to ask for or look for. Id like to poke around on the net and see whats out there.

Someone pointed me to Locos on sale for a good price but I have no clue if these will work. Anyone have suggestions??

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...TOKEN=60539335

mtbr member
    May 2008
    Outlaws in one of the many colors they come in... Many, many places carry them

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...lset+0809.aspx
    Last edited by JGill; 02-21-2009 at 10:02 PM.

Hip
    mtbr member
    I am assuming through Axle means the regular axle with nuts?

mtbr member
    May 2008
    With a thru axle, basically the hub looks hollow... the axle is actually a part of the fork (and comes with the fork, not the hub). Look up the DJ1, it has the thru axle. The DJ3 that your bike is pictured with is not a thru axle it's the standard 3/8 bolt-on.

One can get more technical about it but that's a basic explanation.

Hip
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by JGill
    With a thru axle, basically the hub looks hollow... the axle is actually a part of the fork (and comes with the fork, not the hub). Look up the DJ1, it has the thru axle. The DJ3 that your bike is pictured with is not a thru axle it's the standard 3/8 bolt-on.

One can get more technical about it but that's a basic explanation.
    So I can assume these rims will not work? How do I find rims with 3/8 axles?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Hip
    My bike has 3/8 Axles. I am a complete Newb to the park bikes and have no clue what to ask for or look for. Id like to poke around on the net and see whats out there.

Someone pointed me to Locos on sale for a good price but I have no clue if these will work. Anyone have suggestions??

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...TOKEN=60539335