Thread: Building DJ's

The Beaver

Building DJ's

OK I am trying to build a two or three dirt jumps in my back yard (until my parents find them, any way I am on about 8 acres). I have one built but i clear the landing, so my questions is. How big should a table top be? for about a 2-3 foot high jump. and how long should there be between jumps? with room to build the jumps bigger.

I am new to DJ'ing but ready to learn.

Thanks, Beaver
    Specialized P.1
    Specialized Demo

Hmm..doughnuts
    Try experimenting with the distance between the jumps to see what you feel comfertable with. If you actually have 8 acres, you should have no problem with space. And one of the cool things about dirt is that it can be manipulated. Mess around with a shovel until it feels right.
    Need to find a cheap Marzocchi DJ3 fork cheap

mtbr member
    If you're doing a table I would do it atleast 8ft for the deck. Keep in mind you wanna lay these lines out on a slight downhill slope. Also since you're kinda new I would do like an A Line with the jumps spaced out several feet to allow you to line up for the next jump. Once you get better you can knock down the take off and move it closer to the prev. landing. Making the gap bigger and spacing the jumps closer.

The Beaver
    ok sweet... yeah trial trekker I am building it on a down slop not to steep but it is long enough for about 10 jumps if i ever want to do that much work. ServeEm 8 feet....... ok..... I shall get to work tomorrow.
    Specialized P.1
    Specialized Demo

tuck-n-roll master
    Filling in tabletops with just dirt is a pain in the ass. Look for some old tires to take up some of the space. Lay 'em down stacked up like you would bricks and fill the centers. Holds some of your dirt in place too if you case it.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cru Jones
    Yikes. We need to add about 10 years onto that age. Unless she's a smokin hottie, then maybe 5...

The Beaver