mtbr member
    Dec 2005

BMX bikes for skill development

How many of you own and ride BMX bikes regularly along with your big bikes? It seems that there's a lot of focus on BMX now and a lot of the urban mtb stuff is bmx influenced. Personally I never cared too much for them but maybe I haven't given it enough of a shot. Those of you that do ride bmx, do you find it really helps your skills on the big bikes more than just spending that time practicing on the big bike? I've seen some videos of the more popular bmx riders, and the stuff they do is pretty amazing. Still, I think the same things look way better on a 26", but that's just me.

So what's the deal? Is it worth it to invest a little in a decent bmx bike to give your overall bike skills a workout?

Relax. I'm a pro.
    Feb 2004
    I have a Brooklyn 26/24 hardtail that I love, but I spend waaaaaay more time on my 20". It's more fun, it's the better bike for the job, and frankly, I think most "urban" MTBing looks dumb in my opinion. it's the same as BMX, but on the wrong bike. I'd have a lot more respect for the whole urban thing if it were different from BMX, but all I see is a bunch of dudes using oversized, overly-complex (disc brakes? Why do you need disc brakes to do wall-rides or fufanus??) bikes to do something that has already been done over and over on better bikes. To be more positive, though, I say more power to anybody out there riding. I don't discriminate, and would have no problem riding with somebody who is on the "wrong" bike.

mtbr member
    Hm, I'd probably just put in the time on your 26" bike. I ride with a very talented bmx rider occasionally, and he can't do much on my bike (26"). He can manual forever on his bike, but not at all on mine...

Air Junkie