mtbr member
    Jan 2006

When does a Nitrous feel like a super plush ride..

When your only other bike has been a Carbon Hard Tail!!

I have purposefully restrained from posting on the Turner board until I was a card carrying Turner owner. Well for three weeks now I have had my biking world revolutionized by inspiring ride of the Nitrous. I picked up an almost new Nitrous (in ano gold) from a local guy. I test road everything "new" out there. Top Fuels, Anthem's, Epic's, all the new sexy hydroformed, racer build stuff. Nothing rode like the Turner.

As a former collegiate distance runner I have what I have been told is "good engine". However, I am just getting started in my mt. bike racing career and cannot descend very well yet. The guys I ride with tell me that I climb like a 90lb doped up spanish guy but descend like their girlfriends (hey just quoting them).

I have always been told by the SoPro crowd (wrongly) that "lightness is everything so race a carbon hard tail".

So I did. 19lbs of carbon racer dream. In a word, it sucked. It almost made me become a road biker it sucked so bad. it may be good for racing in Europe but not for the Colorado race scene. especially on the downhills for a guy who has only been on a bike of any kind for 3 years. More than anything it was zero fun.

With the Nitrous mountain biking has become more than just speed, but it is pure enjoyment. and what I have found is that when it is fun, fast comes along naturally. The bike climbs BETTER than my hardtail as the rear end stays glued to the trail on the long, steep, rocky climbs that fill our rides. There are a couple of long climbs we do from my house that I have set personal records on without even trying. The flats are no problem and the descending....well let's just say I return from my rides not with a wrecked body and a sore back but with what I have been calling my "Perma-Grin". And here is the kicker....my nitrous just weighed in at 22.64 lbs complete!!