Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2006

What's the difference between Burner and 5spot?

Sorry if it's a stupid question but I'm new to Turner bikes. Would like to know more about both the frames. Thanks in advance.

banned
    If you're referring to the 03 and 04 Burner, the differences would be as follows:

Burner:
    3.6" rear travel, or 4" with the Paul's Components rockers (no longer available)
    XC geometry
    no integrated BB shell/main pivot/lower shock mount machined block. Tabs used for lower shock mount.
    Weights are similar.
    Burner uses XCE style suspension in the rear with a less vertical rocker. Chain and seat stays are identical. 6.5x1.5" shock.

Spot:
    5" of travel (actually 5.1-5.3 depending on year) and slightly less XC biased geometry
    The afforementioned one-piece machined block, with a gusset on the back.
    Horizontal rocker, lends to better pedaling, as well as other suspension qualities.
    7.5x2.0" shock.
    Different tubing set.

Both are great bikes, with the Spot having a more advanced rear suspension (tweaked, if you will, since most bits are the same). The Burner will get you a heavy duty XC oriented bike while the Spot will get you a nice trail bike. I was told a few years ago by David Turner that the Burner is just as strong as the Spot, but just for XC riding.

The Burner is also not made anymore. The Flux is the replacement for the Burner, but it's a lightweight XC bike with 4", not the true replacement, in anything other than travel category. Realistically, the Spot is the replacement for the Burner/XCE.

The XCE was the predecessor to the Burner and the Spot. It more closely resembles the Spot, but with 4" of travel. It's got that one-piece block. Production of this ended and diverged into the Spot on one end and the Burner on the other.
    Last edited by Jerk_Chicken; 05-19-2006 at 08:52 AM.

rr
    I don't do PC