Thread: Sweet Spot

mtbr member
    Sep 2004

Sweet Spot

So I last rode the Kingdom Trails in VT about 4 years ago. That was on my Burner and it was a blast. Got pretty hammered by the roots though, and in the years since, friends who rode there kept telling me that all the wear and tear arising from the increasingly popularity of this trail network was causing things to get even more lumpy, interfering with the flow. Well, I finally got to return this weekend, but this time on my 5.5 Spot. Rather than finding the trails in worse shape, I was struck by how smooth they still were. Then I realized what was going on - I was riding them on the Spot for the first time. Lordy what a great bike. Sorry no photos, but all readers of this forum know what the bike looks like, and let's face it, pics of forested New England singletrack just aren't all that sexy (tho the trails are fun to ride).

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    I have been hearing about Kingdom trails for a few years. Is it worth driving 10hrs to ride there? Will be taking my 5Spot.

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by highroller
    I have been hearing about Kingdom trails for a few years. Is it worth driving 10hrs to ride there? Will be taking my 5Spot.
    Depends on where you're coming from. If it's from the north or west, from what I hear about the quality of riding, it definitely would be worth the drive. From points south and southeast, maybe not so much, as I hear there is really good riding to be had down that way, as well. What distinguishes the Kingdom Trails is their length (I guess it's about 100 miles of trails) and flow. Some of the best singletrack descents in the east - relatively long, relatively smooth, sweet berms. If you're going to drive that far, keep an eye on the long range forecast. It rains a lot in these parts, and the Kingdom Trails would not be so amusing if it's pouring.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004