Thread: RF6 demo bike

mtbr member
    Dec 2003

RF6 demo bike

Hi. I am the proud owner of a RF6 (I believe that is what Dave Turner said it would be called) demo bike. Yes, the non-HL design. I bought the bike two Fridays ago (thanks Jared) and picked up the bike directly from Turner that afternoon in Murreita, CA. I finally got to ride the bike yesterday, and I thought I'd share a few impressions with you all.

First, an important disclaimer. I have been mountain biking for about 15 years -- the last ten years on a 1995 Specialized Stumpjumper M2. I've been a student my whole life and have never been able to even consider replacing my old hardtail (for obvious financial reasons), until recently when I started getting paid as a graduate student at my lab and saved enough money for the bike. The RF6 is my first full suspension bike and I really haven't had much experience riding full-suspension bikes aside from short rides on my friends' bikes, so take my impressions with a grain of salt.

Okay, back to the RF6. By the time I called Turner, all the DHX-coil/Van36 equipped bikes had been sold. I bought their "light" RF6 equipped with the DHX Air and Talas 36 which came in around 33 lbs. The day I received the bike, I tried riding around on it on campus. I was amazed how easy it was to ride up stairs on the bike. And riding back down? Butter. It's incredible how much technology has advanced since I bought my old Stumpie.

Yesterday I took a short ride around Sycamore Canyon (for those of you in the LA area). The bike was very easy to climb up fire roads, and I found myself much less tired than when I had ridden the same trail with my old hardtail. Seated climbing was very smooth and I didn't think that there was much bobbing while standing and mashing the pedals, particularly for a 6-inch travel bike. And I definitely do not have what I call a smooth pedalling stroke.