Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Anytime. Anywhere.

Smile Retiring with my 5 Spot

I am retiring at this month and moving to Cumberland BC. I am on my second 5 Spot (2011) now, and my old 03 is going to a guest bike. At 55 I am pretty damned excited to move out to Vancouver Island to a true mountain bike Mecca. I have been working in Edmonton, AB for the past 8 years in the army and am quite tired of the big city. My wife and I traveled around BC looking for a good area that we could afford a decent house and narrowed it down to the Comox Valley for many reasons, not just mtb. At the visitor centre mountain biking is featured prominently, and Cumberland was the first leg of the BC Bike Race this year. Some of the trails are right at the edge of town with others a rideable distance. I am hoping my old fashioned 26" wheels still work out there.
    I got some bad ideas in my head.

North Van/Whistler
    Jan 2004
    Congrats. Hook up with the river rats and start building trail.. Cumberland and the Comox valley are wonderful
    Locals' Guide to North Shore Rides http://mtbtrails.ca/

mtbr member
    Jan 2006
    Congratulations!! Enjoy the retirement life!

My cup runneth over
    Nice. All the homers will be stopping by to take advantage of the guest bike.

mtbr member
    Congrats !!!!!

dog's best friend
    May 2004
    Good move MrT. Cumberland / Courtney is a cool locale. Plus you'll have the trails on Hornby and in Campbell River within reach. Happy trails!

mtbr member
    wow nice place....i'm sure the 5 spot will be right at home. congratz..
    "Live dangerously and you live right."
    Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Anytime. Anywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by telebiker View Post
    Good move MrT. Cumberland / Courtney is a cool locale. Plus you'll have the trails on Hornby and in Campbell River within reach. Happy trails!