mtbr member
    May 2010

Parts for 2011 5 spot build

Please forgive my ignorance (i'm a newbie at buildouts)
    I unfortunately broke my 2006 5 spot frame and have found what I hope to be is my new 2011 5 spot replacement (frame with RP23).

I am trying to figure out how much I would have to pay in additional parts to use as many of the existing components as I can from my old setup.

So far I have rough estimates (outside of the frame ~800) for a few things that a buddy told me I would need. Please tell me what I'm missing, and ~cost estimates. I unfortunately don't have the 2006 specs (geometry etc) but have found the 2011 specs. (size M frame)

My old bike parts.....

Medium frame w/ Fox RP23, 5" travel - A few scratches and some cable rub. Looks and works great overall.
    Fox Float 32 140 R - scratches on lowers. stanchions are excellent. works perfectly
    Mavic 317, XT, DT Swiss Wheels - Excellent overall
    Panaracer Fire XC Front, WTB Moto rear tires - NEW
    Hayes Stroker Trail brakes, 160mm rear, 185mm front - Working well, but could use a bleed soon
    XT Derailleurs - Front is like new, Rear is well scratched. Both work well
    SLX Shifters 9spd - Scratched but work perfectly
    Shimano Hollowtech Cranks - Very scratched. Teeth are good though
    Truvativ bars and stem - bars have some scratches, stem is excellent.
    Thomson Post - perfect
    WTB Vigo Comp seatChris King Headset

The beginning of the new build-out

800 frame
    144.95 bottom bracket
    160.00 tapered threadset
    20.00 brake adapter
    140.00 seat post

~~~~~~~~
    You should only need a new headset, a rear brake adaptor and you can use a shim instead of getting a new seatpost. Your prices are really high, where are you shopping for parts?

mtbr member
    May 2010
    i was looking at chris king parts for the headset and bottom bracket........seatpost was a rough estimate and so was the brake adapter.

mtbr member
    Jan 2006