Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Options for Czar bottom bracket

Ask a Mechanic: Bar Tape Tips & PF30/Shimano Bottom Bracket Adapter Options | Art?s Cyclery Blog

Press Fit Bottom Brackets | Chris King Precision Components

I am assembling parts for my build. I am going with XTR so looking at options for PressFit to 24mm spindle. Found the above article from Art's and Chris King's new offering. Since the cranks come with shimano BSA cups what do guys think of these options? I have no experience with adaptors but know they can be a PITA and creak. Appreciate hearing your thoughts.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    BB30 Conversion Kit BB - 73mm

This looks interesting too.

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Word on the trail is that the Shimano crew uses the Praxis set up when riding bikes with PF30 shells. We have had good luck with the SRAM bearings with Wheels Mfg. reducers and still smooth after several months. Of course if you live in a wet area, King cannot be overlooked, their stuff is tough.

I don't get that long of life out of GXP bearings and have had no better or worse life out of the test Czars with PF30 even though some pajama pundits have been saying PF or BB stuff don't hold up as well. Your results may vary

DT

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by turnerbikes View Post
    Word on the trail is that the Shimano crew uses the Praxis set up when riding bikes with PF30 shells. We have had good luck with the SRAM bearings with Wheels Mfg. reducers and still smooth after several months. Of course if you live in a wet area, King cannot be overlooked, their stuff is tough.

I don't get that long of life out of GXP bearings and have had no better or worse life out of the test Czars with PF30 even though some pajama pundits have been saying PF or BB stuff don't hold up as well. Your results may vary

DT