mtbr member
    Oct 2005

looking to build a bike....?

I'm new to the MTBR site and from reading many posts it seems like many of you build your own bikes. I'd like to buld a Turner Flux bike for my lovely wife (i own a Spot.) How hard is it to build up a bike..??...........What is the hardest part....??....Any suggestions are appreciated....looks like a fun project.

PS:....are many specialized tools required...??

Thanks..........Krems

No, that's not phonetic
    Do you have any buds who are somewhat experienced with bike wrenching? It's not terribly hard, but experience helps and there are a few tools that are necessary for bottom brackets and headsets that many folks don't have. Are you a total newby?
    My video techniques can be found in this thread.

Anytime. Anywhere.
    The hardest, most time consuming is building wheels. Not everyone does this though. You can press in a headset with a home made press, a couple of blocks of wood and a hammer, or take it to a shop. Everything else is just bolting on parts. A special tool is needed to install a bottom bracket but other than that a cable cutter, chain tool, allen wrench set and a torx wrench (rotor bolts) wrenches will do it.

If you like your Spot why not build her up a nice light Spot as well.
    I got some bad ideas in my head.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Travis Bickle
    You can press in a headset with a home made press, a couple of blocks of wood and a hammer, or take it to a shop.
    No need for a hammer. I have been using a couple pieces of 1" x 4", a threaded rod, nuts & washers for years with no issues. I just press one cup at a time & it's eezy peezy

Anytime. Anywhere.
    Quote Originally Posted by jncarpenter
    No need for a hammer. I have been using a couple pieces of 1" x 4", a threaded rod, nuts & washers for years with no issues. I just press one cup at a time & it's eezy peezy
    What if you're to lazy to make home made threaded rod press?