Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Nothing can stop me now
    Dec 2006

Light Spot, Heavy RFX Can they share the stable?

Greetings,

I have been enjoying my 5 Spot since October of 2007 (100 rides/1800 miles) and have it built up fairly light (Fox 140, RP23, 2.1 front, 2.4 rear tubeless stan's ZTR355 rims). UGI/Need a new toy/Turner sale is gnawing at me. Is the 2008 RFX too close to the 5 Spot to consider having both in the garage? Is the Highline the better choice for more separation?

I mainly ride at South Mountain park here in Phoenix and roll most of the bigger obstacles, but am thinking of adding travel to increase the fun.

Thanks for any opinions.....

bobo

No, that's not phonetic
    The RFX would be super on Goat Camp, Hobart, Geronimo, et al. The Highline is a great climber for a "big" bike, but it's still a lot of meat to pack around (though fellow Phoenixer Dirtbag did sell his Pack after the got a HL). If your 355's can survive SoMo under you now, then I don't see a real need for you to go all the way to a Highline. My RFX is 31# with a Lyric 2-Step, RP23, Stans Flows, and middle of the road parts and I would not hesitate to ride it off some decent sized chit.
    My video techniques can be found in this thread.

mr. wonderful
    Quote Originally Posted by tscheezy
    though fellow Phoenixer Dirtbag did sell his Pack after the got a HL.
    Not so quick, I still have my Pack and I split my time between the two almost evenly. If you were to have one bike for SoMo, it would be hard to find a better fit than an RFX. If you ride mostly National, the Spot is a great bike. If you venture off National, the RFX and Highline are better suited. Goat Camp and trips to Mt. Eldon are definitely Highline territory. If you go for the Highline though, be prepared for a 40lb. bike. My Six Pack, solidly built (but with single ply tires) comes in at just under 33lbs.

decisions, decisions
    Last edited by dirtbag; 07-14-2008 at 05:45 AM.

No, that's not phonetic