mtbr member

Juicy 7: The Pinnacle of Design Excellence (a long rant)

Warning: What follows is a cathartic excercise in sarcasm following my first experience with bleeding the 2005 Avid Juicy 7. There have been some design changes incorporated into the 2005 Juicys that, IMO, should result in a swift kick to the crotch with a steel toed boot for the person or persons responsible. If you're considering the 2005 Juicy you may want to read on.

I started riding a 5 Spot back in January 2005. Since I've got over 900 miles on the bike and we're approaching the midpoint of the year I thought I bleed the brakes and get everything working like new again. I've had intermittent problems with stuck pistons since early February (usually the the outboard ones), but now its a weekly issue and I'm really tired of taking the wheels off, removing the pads, springs, clips, pumping out the pistons, cleaning everything, etc.

I bought the $30 bleed kit when I got the bike. I opened up the kit last night and read through everything a couple times. Included in the kit were the Changing Hose Length & Bleeding instructions and the Revised Bleeding Instructions. Revised for the 2005 brake or revised because the first instructions were somehow inadequate? Doesn't say. There are some minor differences in the instructions, but there are some really using tips, too, such as how to degas the brake fluid with the included syringes. The instructions also suggests that you locate a large rubber band to clamp the lever to the bars during the bleeding process. Apparantly Avid couldn't afford the extravagance of a large rubber band in their overpriced kit and I don't have a parts bin of rubber bands. I got one from a neighbor.

The first bit of trouble begins at the lever. One is instructed to loosen the bolts on the shifter and brake so as to manipulate the brake lever later in the bleeding process. Simple enough. Eventually one needs to remove the resevoir cap. This is where the trouble starts.